Our Staff
& Board

Literacy Volunteers of Coconino County is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors and operated by three staff members. Throughout the year, we also have NAU work study employees and AmeriCorps volunteers.

Amanda Black

Executive Director

Amanda Black is originally from San Diego but lives in Flagstaff where she moved to pursue her PhD in Applied Linguistics from NAU. She received her Master’s in Applied Linguistics from San Diego State University and has taught ESL, Adult Education, and College Composition in Arizona, California, Thailand, and the Republic of Georgia. Amanda is a fervent advocate of lifelong learning and believes strongly in literacy for all. She is delighted for the opportunity to contribute to The Literacy Center.

Kevin Hirschi

Program Director

Kevin Hirschi is a native Arizonan who has taught English to speakers of other languages, French, Composition, and linguistics courses in the US, Kyrgyzstan, and the Republic of Georgia. He has also coordinated programs for international students, research grants, and nonprofit organizations. While his teaching and research focus lies primarily with the development of speaking skills amongst language learners, he is also interested in language description, perception of accented speakers, and the use of technology to enhance language learning. He was a volunteer tutor for several years before joining The Literacy Center and seeks ways to enhance literacy in our community.

Karol Ballesteros

Child and Family Program Coordinator

Karol is from North West Arizona and is currently an NAU student in Secondary Education for Spanish. She started working with TLC as an AmeriCorps volunteer and became staff in 2022. She coordinates the Raising Readers program, conducts an ESL course at the TLC, and maintains a one-on-one learner.

Board of Directors

Dustin Mast


Phyllis Wolfskill

Vice President

Jim Bret


Dianna Sanchez


Jan Sgambelluri

Bobby White

Alyn Rumbold

Join our team


Tuesday – Thursday
from 11am – 7pm
Monday & Friday
by appointment

Translate »